Interview With… Megan Collins

Welcome everyone to singer-songwriter Megan Collins, who is also #MusicHourUK’s  #FaceOfOctober.
So Megan, how does it feel to be the Face Of October for #MusicHourUK?

It feels amazing! I’m so grateful to be receiving this opportunity, so thank you! 

You relocated from Ireland to England, how would you say the music scene compares from Ireland to England for unsigned/independent artists?

I would say the music community for unsigned/independent artists, at least where I grew up, is more of a “it’s not what you know, it’s who you know” type of ordeal. It’s a very tight-knitted group, which is bittersweet. Should you know a friend who knows a friend, then you’re away. Should you not know the right people or not be confident enough in yourself, it’s very difficult to even get a gig in a pub! In the UK, I found people were more open to hear what you had to offer and there’s always some sort of music showcase event going on! 

What was the moment that inspired you to become a singer-songwriter and is your family musical?

I always get asked this question and the answer will forever be the same; as strange as it sounds, ‘Who Let The Dogs Out’ by BAHA Men made me want to pursue a music career. I loved how as soon as the song was turned up, practically everyone was either bopping, singing or dancing along. Once I saw the happiness that a simple 3 and a half minute tune brought to people, I wanted to put a smile like that on people’s faces. (Give or take the odd ‘I-need-a-500-litre-tub-of-mint-choc-ice-cream-and-a-big-box-of-Kleenex’ song that appears sometimes!) As for my family being musical, my uncle plays the tin whistle incredibly and that’s as musical as it gets! 

Your EP is called ‘We Always Find A Way’, what’s the story behind the name and the EP itself? 

The story behind the title track is basically a re-occurring relationship that wasn’t even a relationship! (16-year-old dilemmas, right? Tragic, I know.) One day, I was sat at the kitchen table, I’d had enough of this “I want you, no actually, my girlfriend re-appeared” constantly on a loop. (Hence the never-ending sentences in the last part of the chorus.) Clearly I was an idiot and fell for it every time but there’s only so many times someone can let you down. It’s draining! Thus, ‘We Always Find A Way’ was written! I never really thought about the EP’s title as a whole. I guess the four songs tie in with the same motto, courtesy of my mother; “everything happens for a reason” – or something to that effect. I don’t believe in destiny, but I do believe in faith and if something’s meant to be, it’ll always find a way to get there. 

What’s the story behind the song Agree to Disagree? 

‘Agree to Disagree’ is about a long distance relationship that I was in. When I wrote it, I was missing the person, or so I thought. Looking back, I think I just missed the idea of him. Over time, due to distance and limited time spent together, I didn’t miss him at all when we were apart. I just “learned” to miss the idea of him

If you could write with another artist who would that be? Why? 

I would give ANYTHING to write with Hozier. Not being biased because he’s Irish, but he’s a Devine being when it comes to his lyrics. Every song of his is a masterpiece! 

How do you go about writing a song, do you have a set process to use?

I usually light my favourite Dragon Fruit Yankee Candle and pour myself a nice cup of green tea with a lemon wedge. Set myself up in front of a window… I’m kidding. I have absolutely no method or ritual when writing songs. If I have a melody or a lyric (the order of them vary each time) I’ll record it on my phone in my notes or recorder straight away and hopefully turn it into a full song if I feel like it’ll go somewhere! 

From your experiences so far what advice would you give to anyone looking to get into the industry as an artist?

If I was asked to give any advice it would be to keep pushing yourself! Don’t think everyone else is better than you because that tarnishes your self worth and drive. Always go with your gut instinct. 

Which famous person in the music industry do you admire and why?

I really admire Alanis Morissette. I grew up with her music and she’s always had a special place in my heart. Her lyrics are so bold and colourful and they always put me in a great mood!

When you’re not writing and recording music what do you enjoy doing to break away from music?

Music is such a huge part of my life, it’s quite difficult to get away from it! When I’m not writing and recording music, though, you’ll find me either sleeping, eating, sketching/painting or just chilling out with family, my boyfriend and my friends. 

What’s the future goal and plans with your music? 

The future goal, ultimately, is to be heard. In the short run, I’d like to find a manager to help and guide me through a music career. 
All the best with your music Megan and thanks for your time.
Check out Megan’s YouTube videos here. Also you can follow Megan on twitter @megancollins23. You can also buy Megan’s latest EP here.
